

Notice of Meeting and Agenda

Consultative Committee with Parents

Tuesday 25 January 2011 at 6.30 p.m. in the Council Chamber, City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh

(Tea/coffee available at 6pm)

1. Order of Business

Including any notices of motion and any other items of business submitted as urgent for consideration at the meeting

- 2. Minute of Meeting of 2 November 2010 (*circulated*) submitted for approval as a correct record
- 3. Matters Arising
- 4. Update by Convener and Director Director and Convener's report (*to follow*)
- 5. Literacy and numeracy strategies Karen Prophet, Head of Quality and Curriculum
- 6. Parental Engagement Development Group Update Moyra Wilson, Neighbourhood Manager (North) (Inclusion)
- 7. Placing in Schools Appeal Committee: Nominations report by the Director of Corporate Services (*circulated*)
- 8. AOB Parent Council Raised Issues
- 9. Date of next meeting Tuesday 8 March 2011, Tynecastle High School (all Parent Council Chairs)

Alastair Maclean Head of Legal and Administrative Services

Notes:

- (1) If you have any questions about the agenda or meeting arrangements, please contact Shona Macarthur, Committee Services, City of Edinburgh Council, City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1YJ; Tel: 0131 529 4980: e-mail <u>shona.macarthur@edinburgh.gov.uk</u>
- (2) A copy of the agenda and papers for this meeting will be available for inspection prior to the meeting at the main reception office, City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh.
- (3) The agenda, minutes and public reports for this meeting and all the main Council committees can be viewed online by going to <u>www.edinburgh.gov.uk/cpol</u> Members and officers of the Council can also view papers by going to the Orb and clicking on Council papers online.
- (4) Meetings are held in accessible venues. Anyone attending with specific support needs should contact Graham Douglas, Children and Families Department, Tel: 0131 469 3131: e-mail – graham.douglas@edinburgh.gov.uk



Please recycle this paper

CCWP MEMBERSHIP LIST (DECEMBER 2010)

Convener of Education, Children and Families
Councillor Marilyne MacLaren (Liberal Democrat)
Director of Children and Families
Gillian Tee
Children and Families
Mike Rosendale, Head of Schools and Community Services
Neighbourhood Manager
David Wright
Vice Convener of Education, Children and Families
Councillor David Beckett (SNP)
Opposition Spokespersons
Councillor Cameron Rose (Conservative)
Councillor Paul Godzik (Labour)
Councillor Alison Johnstone (Green)
Nursery Representatives
Vacancy
Special School Representatives
Andrea Bracher (Kaimes)
Guri Le Riche (Prospect Bank)
Additional Support for Learning Representative
1 representative – Miranda Harvey
Head Teacher Representatives
Rory MacKenzie, Balerno High School
Arlene Mooney, Braidburn School
Willie French, Parson's Green Primary School
Jane Watson, Greengables Nursery
Teacher Representative
Raymond Simpson, Queensferry High School
Observer
Eileen Prior, Scottish Parent Teacher Council

NORTH

SECONDARY

Secondary Representatives (2)	Secondary Schools Represented (5)
David Martin, Broughton	Broughton, Craigroyston, Drummond.
Dr Kevin O'Donnell, Trinity	Leith Academy, Trinity Academy

PRIMARY

Broughton Cluster (0 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (5)
Lisa Mackenzie, Stockbridge	Ferryhill, Flora Stevenson, Granton, Stockbridge

Craigroyston Cluster (0) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (3)
Vacancy	Craigroyston, Forthview, Pirniehall

Drummond Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (3)
Gordon Chrumka, Broughton	Abbeyhill, Broughton, Leith Walk

Leith Academy Cluster (2 reps) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (4)
Tracy Rendall, Craigentinny Chris Marks, Leith	Craigentinny, Hermitage Park, Leith, Lorne

Trinity Academy Cluster (2 reps) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (3)
Paul Jeffrey, Trinity Susan Edwards, Victoria	Trinity, Victoria, Wardie

.

EAST

SECONDARY

Secondary Representatives (1 rep)	Secondary Schools Represented (3)
Paul Ianetta, Holy Rood	Castlebrae, Holy Rood, Portobello

Castlebrae Cluster (0 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (4)
Vacancy	Castleview, Newcraighall, Niddrie Mill, Prestonfield

Holy Rood Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (6)
David Manson, St John's	St Catherine's, St Francis, St John Vianney, St John's, St Mary's (Leith), St Ninian's

Portobello Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (5)
Sean Watters, Towerbank	Brunstane, Duddingston, Parson's Green, The Royal High, Towerbank

SOUTH

SECONDARY

Secondary Representatives (3 reps)	Secondary Schools Represented (5)
Karen Traill, Liberton	Boroughmuir, Gracemount, James
Norma Devlin, St Thomas of	Gillespie's, Liberton, St Thomas of
Aquin's	Aquin's
Ann Henderson, James Gillespie's	-

Boroughmuir Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (3)
Jeanna Brady, Bruntsfield	Buckstone, Bruntsfield, South Morningside

Gracemount Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (1)
Hussein Ezzedine	Gracemount

James Gillespie's Cluster (1 rep) <i>Primary School</i> <i>Representatives</i>	Primary Schools Represented (5)
Julie-Ann Sime, Tollcross	Royal Mile, Sciennes, James Gillespie's, Preston Street, Tollcross

Liberton Cluster (1rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (4)
Liberton, Lesley Gibson- Eaglesham	Craigour Park, Gilmerton, Liberton, Prestonfield

St Thomas of Aquin's Cluster (1 rep) <i>Primary School</i> <i>Representatives</i>	Primary Schools Represented (4)
Anne McGowan, St Peter's	Holy Cross, St Mark's, St Mary's (London Street), St Peter's

SOUTH WEST

SECONDARY

Secondary Representatives (3)	Secondary Schools Represented (4)
Sally Smith, Currie Iain McGillivray, Firrhill Francis Barkey, Balerno	Balerno, Currie, Firrhill, Wester Hailes Education Centre

Balerno Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (2)
Donald Craigie, Dean Park	Dean Park, Ratho

Currie Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (3)
David Thomson, Currie	Currie, Juniper Green, Nether Currie

Firrhill Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (5)
Lesley Broadwood, Bonaly	Bonaly, Colinton, Longstone, Oxgangs, Pentland

WHEC Cluster (0 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (3)
Vacancy	Clovenstone, Canal View, Sighthill,

WEST

SECONDARY

Secondary Representatives (2 reps)	Secondary Schools Represented (6)
Tina Woolnough, The Royal High	Craigmount, Forrester, Queensferry, St
Mary Brownlee, Tynecastle	Augustine's, The Royal High, Tynecastle

Craigmount Cluster (2 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (5)
Bruce Sherry, East Craigs	Corstorphine, East Craigs, Fox Covert, Hillwood, Roseburn

Forrester Cluster (0 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (4)
Vacancy	Broomhouse, Carrick Knowe, Gylemuir, Murrayburn

Queensferry Cluster (0 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (4)
Vacancy	Dalmeny, Echline, Kirkliston, Queensferry

St Augustine's Cluster (0 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (5)
Vacancy	Fox Covert RC, St Cuthbert's, St David's, St Joseph's, St Margaret's

The Royal High Cluster (2 reps) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (4)
Pauline Lindsay, Blackhall	Blackhall, Clermiston, Cramond,
Luke McCullough, Clermiston	Davidson's Mains

Tynecastle Cluster (1 rep) Primary School Representatives	Primary Schools Represented (4)
Gavin Corbett, Craiglockhart	Balgreen, Craiglockhart, Dalry, Stenhouse